Welcome To
Acadia Broadcasting NewsThe Latest and Greatest ContentYour Trusted Local Source


Image: Submitted/Elections NB

Nominations close for 3 N.B. byelections

By Brad Perry Apr 10, 2023 | 8:19 AM

The nomination deadline has passed for three provincial byelections in New Brunswick.

Residents in Dieppe, Bathurst East-Nepisiguit-Saint-Isidore and Restigouche-Chaleur will head to the polls on April 24.

A total of 11 candidates had put their names forward for the three vacant legislature seats as of 2 p.m. Saturday, according to Elections NB.

The Liberals, the New Democratic Party and the Green Party put forward candidates in all three ridings.

The governing Progressive Conservatives did not put forward a candidate in Bathurst East-Nepisiguit-Saint-Isidore, where Liberal leader Susan Holt is trying to secure a seat in the legislature.

Other candidates in the riding include Serge Brideau for the Green Party and Alex White for the NDP.

In Dieppe, Chantal Landry is running for the Greens, Dean Léonard for the Progressive Conservatives, Richard Losier for the Liberals, and Cyprien Okana for the NDP.

Candidates in Restigouche-Chaleur include Anne Bard-Lavigne for the Tories, Rachel Boudreau for the Greens, Alex Gagne for the NDP, and Marco LeBlanc for the Liberals.

The seats have been vacant since last fall after Liberal MLAs Roger Melanson, Daniel Guitard, and Denis Landry resigned to take on new roles.

Melanson, the party’s interim leader, stepped down on Oct. 21 to pursue a career in the private sector.

He is now vice president of sales for Scoudouc-based Ditech Testing, which specializes in refurbishing cylinders and tanks for the liquid petroleum industry.

Guitard and Landry both left provincial politics on Nov. 30 after winning municipal seats days earlier. Guitard is now the mayor of Belle-Baie while Landry is the mayor of Hautes-Terre.

Two days of advance voting are scheduled for Saturday, April 15 and Monday, April 17.

Currently, the Progressive Conservatives hold 29 seats in the legislature, the Liberals hold 13 seats, the Greens hold three seats, one seat is independent, and three seats are vacant.


Leave a Reply