Welcome To
Acadia Broadcasting NewsThe Latest and Greatest ContentYour Trusted Local Source


City appoints members to new Crime Prevention committee

By Tim Davidson Jun 26, 2023 | 12:41 PM

Six months after a special meeting by Kenora City Council about community safety, a new committee has finally been formed.

Ten members have been appointed to the Kenora Crime Prevention and Community Well-Being Advisory Committee.

Mayor Andrew Poirier says the committee has broad representation.

“This is just finishing the different areas that we’ve targeted to have representation on the committee,” says Poirier.

“We’ve have a lot of requests from people that who have put their names in, you know, what’s happening?  So we’re at that point because we have hired a coordinator, to at least get the committee going.”

Poirier adds that its an important committee for the city.

“I think it will be a fairly demanding committee at the front end, and building up that capacity.  We had a lot of good applications and I think it’s time to move that forward.”

Poirier says the Community Safety and Wellbeing Coordinator will start his new duties sometime in July.

The committee members are:  Taras Manzie, Shannon Baily, Denise Forsyth, Darcia Curtis, Regan Dearborn, Laurel Pirie, Jill Hager, Jared Olson, Jodelle Maksymchuk, Jeff Duggan (Alternates: Jim Neild and Grant Cowles).

Previously, council also appointed councillor Bob Bernie, Logan Haney and Anita Cameron to sit on the committee.


Leave a Reply