Welcome To
Acadia Broadcasting NewsThe Latest and Greatest ContentYour Trusted Local Source


Solomon voted Chief

By Adam Riley May 29, 2023 | 9:20 PM

File Image

Fort William First Nation has a new Chief following a narrow win by Michele Solomon who served as a Councillor this past term, defeating former Chief Georjann Morriseau by 12 votes.

A total of 638 ballots were cast for the two candidates, with only two ballots being rejected.

A new council will also be taking over but will have some returning faces, including former Chief Peter Collins, who resigned last year to take a position within the private sector.

He is joined by 11 others including Jennelle Charlie, Leo Bannon Sr, Sheldon Bannon, Bess Legarde, Sherry Lynn Pelletier, Desiree Morrisseau-Shields, Jacob McKay, Yvette A. Greenwald, Kyle MacLaurin, Bonnie A. Pelletier, and Brian Ludwigsen.
*bold print indicates incumbent

In total 62 members of the community ran for office.



Leave a Reply