Welcome To
Acadia Broadcasting NewsThe Latest and Greatest ContentYour Trusted Local Source


Fort Frances Elects New Mayor

By Randy Thoms Oct 24, 2022 | 11:34 PM

File photo. Image: Randy Thoms

Andrew Hallikas is the new mayor of Fort Frances.

The current councillor beat Ken Perry, a former member of council, by almost 550 votes.

Elected councillor were incumbents Wendy Brunetta, John McTaggart and Mike Behan.

Brunetta finished with the most votes, with McTaggart and Behan finishing second and third.

They will be joined by newcomers Mandi Olson, Dave Kircher and Steve Maki.

Voter turnout fell short of the 50 per cent mark, coming in at 49.6 per cent.



Andrew Hallikas – 1,573

Ken Perry – 1,029


Council – six to be elected

Wendy Brunetta – 2,123

John McTaggart – 2,068

Mike Behan – 1,974

David Kircher – 1,854

Mandi Olson – 1,665

Steve Maki – 1,637

Kaleb Firth – 913




Leave a Reply