Welcome To
Acadia Broadcasting NewsThe Latest and Greatest ContentYour Trusted Local Source


Some Municipal Election Filings In Place

By Randy Thoms Aug 3, 2022 | 9:05 AM

Just over two weeks are remaining before a deadline on nominations for this fall’s municipal and school board elections in Ontario arrives.

A few candidates in the Rainy River District have filed.

Three people have given their intent to run for council in Alberton Township, including incumbent Reeve Mike Ford, who is seeking a second term.

Incumbent councillors Diane Glowasky and Shawn Spence are also looking for re-election.

Two new faces are seeking a seat on Emo township council.

Lisa Teeple and Phil Whatley are running for councillor.

Five people have filed in Atikokan, including Rob Ferguson, who is looking to replace the retiring Dennis Brown as mayor.

Running for councillor are incumbents Elizabeth Shine, Brian Stimson and Jim Johnson, and Gord Knowles.

Kaleb Firth and incumbent Mike Behan are the only candidates to file for the election in Fort Frances.

Long-time school board trustee Cathy Piotrowski is seeking another term on the Northwest Catholic District School Board.

Potential candidates have until August 19 at 2 p.m. to file to be eligible for the October 24 vote.


Leave a Reply