Welcome To
Acadia Broadcasting NewsThe Latest and Greatest ContentYour Trusted Local Source


Order Of New Brunswick Recipients Announced

By Brad Perry Aug 2, 2022 | 5:22 AM

Order of New Brunswick medal. Image: Submitted/Government of New Brunswick

Ten more New Brunswickers have been named to the Order of New Brunswick.

The 2022 recipients were announced Monday during New Brunswick Day celebrations in Fredericton.

Established in 2000, the order recognizes people who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their field.

More than 190 people have been invested since then for their dedication and service to the province, its people and communities.

“By awarding the province’s highest civilian honour to individuals who use their skills and talents to serve others, we are recognizing exemplary New Brunswickers who, through their dedication and generosity, have made a real difference in the lives of people in their community and their province,” Premier Blaine Higgs said in a news release.

The 2022 inductees are:

Jean-Claude Basque, from Moncton, for his outstanding commitment and work related to defending workers’ rights and social justice for all New Brunswick residents.

Cecile Cassista, from Riverview, for her outstanding commitment to advocacy on behalf of the province’s seniors, so they can live with greater respect and dignity, and for her strong leadership in serving the residents of her community.

Randy Dickinson, from Fredericton, for his dedication to creating a province where all residents can be truly equal, and for working tirelessly to improve the quality of life for people with different types of disabilities and to increase awareness of issues affecting them.

Penny Ericson, from Fredericton, for her outstanding achievements and leadership in improving the health, social and cultural well-being of her community and province.

Aurèle Ferlatte (posthumous), from Dalhousie, for his important contributions to the veterans of the Merchant Navy, for his commitment to improving the lives of the workers he represented, and for his commitment to social justice.

Lucinda Flemer, from Saint Andrews, for her profound impact on the residents of her community and on the lives of many other New Brunswickers through her vision, her endless creativity, and her generosity.

Sandra L. Irving, from Saint John, for her outstanding leadership, advocacy for educational and health-care institutions, and for her commitment to the betterment of her community and her province.

Larry Nelson, from Moncton, for his service and dedication to his community and for his tremendous economic, social and cultural contributions to New Brunswick.

Valois Robichaud, from Caraquet, for his many accomplishments as an educator and humanist committed to serving others, and for his support of people who are ill and at the end of life.

Robert (Bobby) Sylliboy, from Esgenoôpetitj First Nation, for his incredible work and dedication as a coach and champion for youth in his community of Esgenoôpetitj, and for his exceptional mentorship and excellence in volunteerism.

This year’s recipients will be invested during a ceremony at Government House in Fredericton on Nov. 2.


Leave a Reply