Welcome To
Acadia Broadcasting NewsThe Latest and Greatest ContentYour Trusted Local Source


The winners of this year's Constable Heidi Stevenson's Watch Awards pose with MADD Canada National President, Jaymie-Lyne Hancock (right.)

MADD honours top DUI police at Heidi Stevenson Watch awards

By Evan Taylor May 13, 2024 | 3:36 PM

MADD Canada honoured Nova Scotia’s top police officers when it comes to enforcing impaired driving at the second annual Constable Heidi Stevenson’s Watch Award ceremony.

The award program is named in honour of Cst. Heidi Stevenson, who was a 23-year veteran of the RCMP.

Cst. Stevenson held many different roles throughout her career, including as a dedicated Drug Recognition Expert. Cst. Stevenson was especially proud of her expertise in that area and was deeply committed to helping make Nova Scotia’s roadways safer.

While on duty Cst. Stevenson was one  22 people killed by a gunman in April 2020 during the Portapique shooting. She was posthumously awarded MADD Canada’s Terry Ryan Memorial Award for Excellence in Police Service in honour of her work to prevent impaired driving.

“For every impaired driver, these officers take off the roads, it is a potential tragedy averted. It means a family may not have to mourn a loved one,” said MADD Canada National President Tanya Hansen Pratt. “In honour of all victims of impaired driving and in honour of Heidi Stevenson, MADD Canada offers our heartfelt and lasting gratitude to the committed police officers who take impaired drivers off the roads.”

The award ceremony was hosted at RCMP headquarters in Dartmouth where 15 officers from various detachments were presented with awards.

Winning the Top Performer award for removing more impaired drivers from the road than any other officer was Halifax-based Cst. Scott Aldridge.

Const. Scott Aldridge’s top performer and gold coin awards.

Cst. Aldridge briefly worked with Cst. Stevenson said it was an “honour” to be given an award in her memory that recognizes an important component of police work.

This is the second year in a row Cst. Stevenson was given the Top Performer award.

Gold Coin Awards were presented to four officers who removed 24 or more impaired drivers. Silver Coin Awards were presented to eight officers who removed 15 to 23 impaired drivers.

Award Winners

Top Performer

  • Cst. Scott Aldridge, RCMP (Traffic Services)

Gold Award

  • Cst. Liam Campbell, Halifax Regional Police
  • Cst. Christopher Graham, RCMP (Halifax Regional Detachment)
  • Cst. Kristopher Hansen, Halifax Regional Police
  • Cst. Troy Redden, RCMP (Halifax Regional Detachment)

Silver Award

  • Cst. Tyler Baird, RCMP (Antigonish)
  • Cst. Fallon Clarke, Halifax Regional Police
  • Cst. Nicholas Dorrington, RCMP (Colchester)
  • Cst. Kristin Katrinardottir, Halifax Regional Police
  • Cst. Timothy Mugford, RCMP (Halifax Regional Detachment)
  • Cst. Jordan Neilan, Halifax Regional Police
  • Cst. Nael Orabi, Halifax Regional Police
  • Cst. Tyler Shipley, Truro Police Service