Welcome To
Acadia Broadcasting NewsThe Latest and Greatest ContentYour Trusted Local Source


4 Nova Scotians to get ECMA honourary awards

By Kelli Rickard Apr 19, 2024 | 11:54 AM

The East Coast Music Association has unveiled its ten Honourary Awards recipients.

Four Nova Scotians will receive the awards, including the late Bruce Guthro.

The Cape Breton singer-songwriter’s contribution to the music industry will be recognized with a Director’s Special Achievement Award.

Formerly with Warner Music, John Poirier – who helped sign Great Big Sea, Natalie MacMaster and other east coast artists – will receive the Industry Builder Award.

Stompin’ Tom Awards will go to Ian Alistair Gosbee, a multifaceted artist; and Stephen Muise, the Musical Director/Conductor and Business Manager for CapeBreton choir The Men of The Deeps and a full-time educator.

In a release, ECMA chair Debbie Mullins says “The ECMA Board of Directors is proud to recognize the dedication and commitment of our Industry professionals.”

“Their long-time contributions to the industry have been invaluable. Congratulations to everyone.”

The ECMAs will take place May 1st to 5th in Charlottetown.

The 10 ECMA honourary award recipients are as follows:

Director’s Special Achievement Award: Bruce Guthro (CB)

The Director’s Special Achievement Award recognizes an exceptional contribution to the music industry on a national and/or international level.

Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award: Denis Parker (NL)

The Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual or group who has had a profound and lasting effect on the Atlantic Canadian music industry.

Musician’s Achievement Award: Deryl Gallant (PE)

The Musician’s Achievement Award recognizes a session musician who exemplifies professionalism and quality musicianship on recordings and/or live performances of East Coast music.

Industry Builder Award: John Poirier (NS)

The Industry Builder Award recognizes an individual, group, or organization that has made a significant impact on the welfare of the music industry in Atlantic Canada. The award recognizes the recipients’ genuine contributions to the East Coast music industry that are made not simply for personal gain but for the greater development of the East Coast music industry.

Bucky Adams Memorial Award: Scott Parsons (PE)

The Bucky Adams Memorial Award recognizes a member of the African Canadian / Black community that has had a significant impact on the African Canadian / Black and/or overall music industry in Atlantic Canada.

Stompin’ Tom Awards (5): Pamela Morgan (NL), Ian Alistair Gosbee (NS), Stephen Muise (CB), Zachary Atkinson (NB), and Kerri Wynne Macleod (PE).

The five Stompin’ Tom Awards recognize one individual in each of ECMA’s five geographical regions who has made a long-term contribution to the East Coast music industry and has paved the road for many successful East Coast artists of today.