Welcome To
Acadia Broadcasting NewsThe Latest and Greatest ContentYour Trusted Local Source


Nine francophone educators to receive Excellence in Education awards

By Tara Clow Nov 30, 2023 | 1:37 PM

The Department of Education and Early Childhood Development is recognizing its francophone teachers, principals and early years educators.

Excellence in Education award winners in each district were announced this week.

The awards recognize teachers, principals and early childhood educators for their leadership in advancing education and achieving the objectives of the francophone education system.

Nominations were evaluated by the francophone school districts, and recipients were selected by the provincial committee.

The nine recipients will receive their awards in Fredericton in February.

The award recipients are:

Francophone nord-est school district

  • Valérie St-Onge, teacher, Polyvalente Roland-Pépin, Campbellton
  • Chantal Boucher, principal, École Marguerite-Bourgeoys, Caraquet
  • Allain Hachey, principal, Garderie Carrefour des Amis, Belle-Baie (Beresford district)

Francophone nord-ouest school district

  • Marie-Pierre Page, teacher, École Grande-Rivière, Grande-Rivière (Saint-Léonard district)
  • Julie Godbout, principal, École Mgr-Martin, Saint-Quentin
  • Joanie Lepage, principal, Garderie Chez Nini, Saint-Quentin

Francophone sud school district

  • Danielle Cormier, teacher, École Blanche-Bourgeois, Beausoleil (Cocagne district)
  • Hélène Bingham, teacher, École Notre-Dame, Beausoleil (Notre-Dame de Kent district)
  • Francine Melanson, principal, Le Garde Amis, Dieppe